Learn why…

IT IS IMPORTANT TO BELIEVE IN TECHNOLOGIES…

… How powerful the giant Nokia was. With reference to unit sales, the company, being a manufacturer of smartphones, was ahead of Apple and Samsung combined… Sales of Nokia smartphones on all major European markets had dropped down from the half to three forth of the market in only five months… According to Steрhen Elop, Nokia has lost half of the share of the total smartphone market… It is a real world record of losing a market share not only among the suppliers of mobile devices or technologies. It is the record of brand destruction in the industry in general. Stephen Elop, the CEO of Nokia, from now on is known in the history as the most mistaken and notorious manager who has destroyed the most globally-known brand by slowness and lack of trust in the advanced technologies.

BELIEVE IN TECHNOLOGIES, DO NOT STOP, ALWAYS MOVE FORWARD, SEARCH FOR NEW SOLUTIONS FOR COMMON SITUATIONS, THIS IS HOW THE LEADER ACTS!
… Or trail behind

The winners are those who know how to handle important negotiations. Move forward together with progress.

HD (High Definition) is a new format of “high definition” data storage. It includes two forms, i.e. HD DVD and Blu-Ray. HD DVD is a format allowing storage of huge volumes of data and playback of high quality images and video, along with that it has five times bigger capacity than a standard DVD.

HD DVD format was introduced in 2002. Negotiations between electronics manufacturers about surviving of only one of the two HD formats failed due to the inability to reach the consensus. HD DVD format was mainly financed and sold by Toshiba and NEC and was first introduced to the market in 2006. From the very beginning the sales of HD DVD exceeded the sales of Blu-Ray. The experts said that Toshiba had spent almost $1 billion to support the format until they discarded it in 2008.

Why has HD DVD eventually lost to Blu-Ray staked by Sony? There are several reasons. In particular, experts said that Sony had managed to persuade the biggest film studios to produce films in Blu-Ray format. Those were Sony’s actual advantages since the company owns one of the biggest film studios. Analysts believe that when Sony had convinced Warner Brothers to use only Blu-Ray format, the company won the fight against HD DVD.

THE WINNER IS THE ONE, WHO IS FASTER…

Gateway, a computer manufacturer, was founded in 1985 and used to be one of the most successful companies manufacturing PCs in the USA. By 1990, its sales had multiplied by 4 times. By 2004, it had ranked third in America after Hewlett-Packard and Dell and had conquered 25% of the market of computer retail sales. But in 2007, the state of affairs of Gateway was so bad that Acer bought it for $710 million.

Company’s collapse was caused by several reasons. First, the company wanted to manufacture notebooks. Gateway’s share of desktop computer market was huge, but the company failed to shift to manufacturing portable computers as fast as its rivals did. Gateway was also late with raising B2B PCs sales (which had been a source of Dell’s growth for several years). Gateway tried to balance losses on account of diversification towards consumer electronics, but it did not bring significant profits, while such decision only harmed the company.

DON’T STOP WITH THE ACHIEVED, MOVE FORWARD! A LEADER ALWAYS LOOKS TOWARDS SELF-IMPROVEMENT.

…или плетись позади

Важно верить в технологии:

… Насколько же сильным был гигант Nokia. По показателям штучной продажи, как производитель смартфонов компания была впереди Apple и Samsung вместе взятых … На всех крупных европейских рынках продажи смартфонов Nokia всего за пять месяцев упали от половины до трех четвертей … Под руководством Стивена Элопа Nokia лишилась половины общего объема рынка смартфонов … Это настоящий мировой рекорд по сдаче своей доли на рынке и не только среди поставщиков мобильных устройств или технологий. Рекорд разрушения бренда в индустрии вообще … президент Nokia Стивен Элоп смог… И отныне войдет в историю, как заблуждающийся и печально известный менеджер, разрушивший известнейший бренд на планете медлительностью и отсутствием веры в новейшие технологии.

Доверяйте технологиям, не останавливайтесь, двигайтесь, ищите новые пути решений уже привычных ситуаций – именно так поступает лидер!
… Или плетитесь позади

Выигрывают те, кто умеет проводить важные переговоры.
Двигайтесь вперед, а не плетитесь позади.

HD (High Definition) – новый формат хранения информации «высокой четкости». У него есть две ветви – HD DVD и Blu-Ray. HD DVD – формат, способный хранить большие объемы информации и воспроизводить высококачественные изображения и видео, позволяет хранить в пять раз больше данных, чем стандартный DVD.

Формат HD DVD был введен в действие в 2002 году. Переговоры между производителями электроники о том, чтобы из двух форматов HD остался только один, закончились, когда им не удалось договориться о консенсусе по поводу прибыли. Формат HD DVD в первую очередь финансировался и продавался компаниями Toshiba и NEC, и впервые был выпущен на рынок в 2006 году. И сначала продажи HD DVD были больше, чем Blu-Ray. Эксперты говорят, что Toshiba потратила почти $1 млрд на поддержку этого формата до того момента, как отказалась от него в 2008 году.

Почему же HD DVD в результате проиграл Blu-Ray, на который сделал ставку компания Sony? Этому есть ряд причин. В частности, эксперты говорят о том, что Sony удалось убедить крупнейшие киностудии выпускать фильмы именно в формате Blu-Ray. И в этом у Sony действительно было преимущество, ведь компания владеет одной из крупнейших киностудий. Аналитики полагают, что когда Sony уговорила Warner Brothers использовать исключительно Blu-Ray, компания выиграла битву против HD DVD.

Побеждает тот, кто оказывается быстрее…

Производитель компьютеров Gateway был основан в 1985 году и являлся одной из самых успешных компаний по производству ПК в США. Его продажи к 1990 году выросли в 4 раза. К 2004 году он был номером три в Америке после Hewlett-Packard и Dell и занимал 25% рынка розничных продаж компьютеров. Но в 2007 году дела компании Gateway были так плохи, что Acer смог купить ее за $710 млн.

Крах компании произошел по нескольким причинам. Во-первых, компания хотела производить ноутбуки. Доля Gateway на рынке настольных компьютеров была велика, но компания не смогла перейти на производство портативных ПК так же быстро, как это сделали ее конкуренты. Также Gateway запоздала с продажей ПК крупным компаниям (на чем Dell растет уже много лет). Gateway пытался компенсировать потери за счет диверсификации в потребительскую электронику, но больших прибылей это не принесло, и это решение только повредило компании.

Не останавливайтесь на достигнутом двигайтесь вперед!
Лидер постоянно стремится к самосовершенствованию.